Camilyn Beth at 116 King

I have long been an admirer of Camilyn Beth dresses, but had previously discovered that her dresses did not fit my body type, much to my regret.

The popup at 116 King was hosting a Camilyn Beth trunk show, and I thought I would at least stop in and tell her how beautiful her dresses were. It was the day of the Old Town Alexandria Scottish Festival, so I put on my most appropriate outfit and set off to the shop.


Shirt: Kate Spade | Plaid Skirt: J.Crew Factory | Cableknit knee socks: G.H.BASS and CO. | Purse: Kate Spade

If you get the opportunity to meet the designer of a brand you like, absolutely do it! I felt a little awkward asking her for recommendations on if there were any of her dresses that might fit, but Cami is incredibly sweet and quickly put me at ease. She had great insight on with what would work for me, and could not have been nicer! She has started using a different fabric for her designs and it made all the difference for me. Not only does her new line fit me beautifully, but I was even down a size from what I normally take.

She recommended the Jodianne dress, which I was blown away by! Advantage of having the designer there to recommend pieces, was that it was not something I would have considered previously. It was extremely flattering and made me feel beautiful. When I put it on, I felt like a million bucks, and was in love with the fit. Again, would never have thought to try it on! Her dresses are extremely versatile, and fit tall, thin women, but also women built like me!


Very thankful to get to meet this lovely lady, and definitely plan to incorporate more of her pieces into my collection!

I also go the chance to meet her friend, illustrator Shannon Kirsten. She makes stunning paper goods and is definitely worth checking out!

Support small, women owned businesses!


We couldn’t resist a dressing room photo!

Leave a Reply

