Opening Up to New Opportunities

The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams…

 

I was given an amazing opportunity, and I was so blown away by it that I couldn’t believe it. Never be afraid of new things or to put yourself out there! In 2015, I applied to be a part of the CEM (Certification in Exhibition/Event Management) Faculty. I earned my own CEM in 2011, and thought that I had enough experience and knowledge to become one of the handful of teachers. I was accepted. In November, I got a call from IAEE (who runs the CEM), asking if I was interested in teaching a class in CHINA. It was a whirlwind! And frankly, I was a little nervous about it… This was a very big responsibility! It was traveling to an unknown area, (I had never been to Asia before), with students who did not speak the language and with very little time to prepare and get my visa! Also, the Chinese government was handling everything; They were choosing all of our flights and accommodations and it was difficult not having all of the information for such a big trip!

I accepted the assignment, and thought I was anxious and excited, off I went!

 

 

When we arrived in Wuxi, after a crazy day of sightseeing, we ended up at the opening banquet with all the students! They began with a presentation, and to Jim and my surprise, we were at the head presentation table!

 

They had us both stand up and introduced us and the students applauded us. It was very humbling! Afterwards, we were treated to an incredible banquet dinner (more in another post), and finally headed home to bed!

 

I taught first! My topic was Security and Risk Management. Sophie translated for me, and I tried to stay on target. I did a lot of comparison with American events and explanation. I discovered that the students were listening, because when I asked for audience participation, I got responses! The students were very kind and they seemed to enjoy the lecture! This is me before the presentation. It was a full day workshop, and it’s very tiring to teach an all day course.

 

Jim and I were so thrilled at how kind the CCPIT (the Chinese group that brought us over) and the students were! This truly was a once in a lifetime experience, and I could not be more grateful for the opportunity. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there and try something new! You never know where it will lead you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

