Wining and Dining Up the Floridian Coast

We ate so well in Florida!

With the exception of Nate landed very late our first night, and though we were exhausted, we ended up walking across the street from our hotel to get wings at the Checkers. Extreme #glamfood , hahahaha.

The next morning, we decided to explore the Wynwood Art District and get brunch! The one restaurant I had been recommended is closed, so we just judged the restaurants by their exterior… I figured we couldn’t go wrong when it looked like this!

 

As soon as we were seated, I knew we made the right choice. The Wynwood Diner is incredible. It’s got a great vibe and they had frozen rosè on the menu. Who can say no to a frosè?? Can you tell how delighted I was by this??

I ordered a melon and tomato salad with chicken and a side of avocado. I had never seen anything like this before, but it was perfect. The meal was refreshing, filling, and clean, gluten free eating. Cucumbers, melon, tomatoes, feta, and some chicken. I added the avocado, and it was one of the best brunches I had had. Nate got a delicious burger, and I have to admit that I stole a couple of his fries! Whoops!

 

After a crazy day exploring, we decided we wanted a nice dinner with a view! All of the zagat guides and blogs recommended the Rusty Pelican. Worth it. We got seated outdoors right on the water. How killer is that view???

img_8975-2

Nate got a mimosa and I got their Agave Sunset. YUM.

img_9236-1

We ordered the Rusty Pelican Board for 2. YES. YES, YES, YES. This consisted of a filet with mashed plantains, lobster risotto, and fried fish. For the record, this will easily feed a family of 3-4. We were so stuffed, and there was still so much food to have.

img_8158-1

 

The next morning, (still full from the previous evening), we made our way up to Palm Beach! Though we were staying at the Brazilian Court, I needed to check out the Colony Hotel for a client, so we decided to have lunch at the Polo Restaurant. As I discussed in a previous post, I could move in right now. We dined outdoors. Aren’t their water glasses, beautiful? (and don’t get me started on the Dorothy Draper awning)!!

img_9232-1

Started out with a cup of New England Clam Chowder! It was the perfect consistency, not too thick, not too watery.

img_8295-1

I decided to try their signature Lobster Salad.

img_8301

Nate got the special crab and avocado toast. He didn’t even let me get a bite, it was so tasty apparently!

img_8303-1

We really wanted something else, so we ordered a slice of apple pie ala mode.

img_8307-1

After a long day, we literally just picked what appeared to be the closest restaurant. We absolutely lucked into this place! The Avocado Grill has an entire menu of… avocados.

img_9238-1

This is me with my AVOCADO MARGARITA. Yep.

img_9240-1

Looks gross, tastes delicious!

img_8397

Avocado and fig “salad” and goat cheese, avocado, and asparagus bites. We also got fish and avocado tacos, and finished our meal with an avocado chocolate moose. It all sounds incredibly weird, but I assure you it was VERY good. We sat on the patio, and it was a really good, casual meal in West Palm Beach. The service was great as well! Our waitress really looked out for my allergy, and I was so grateful for her diligence.

img_8400-2

To end our stay in Palm Beach, we stopped by Nick and Johnnies for brunch. The decor was so cute! We were indoors, but it was a canvas draped courtyard, and there was a ton of natural light.

img_8814

Of course, I had to get the Lady Lilly drink!

img_8811-1

 

I ended up ordering their Ocean Way Omelette. It consisted of lump lobster, crab, shrimp, gruyere cheese, creme fraiche, and some caviar on top. It came with crispy bacon and a side of grits. This omelette alone is worth a trip to Palm Bach. So much yum!!

img_8919

 

We ended our trip having dinner in at the City Oyster and Sushi Bar in Del Ray, Florida on our way back to Miami with Nate’s Aunt and Uncle and cousins!

I didn’t grab any food photos, but I very much recommend it! It’s got a great atmosphere, and the food was really good.

 

 

One thought on “Wining and Dining Up the Floridian Coast

Leave a Reply

