Cha Cha Matcha

I have done a lot of reading lately on matcha. It is a form of green tea that is grown differently and powdered, therefore giving you the benefits of the entire tea leaf, and not just the brew. It is supposedly extremely rich in antioxidants and great for flushing toxins and boosting metabolism.

Everyone has been raving about Cha Cha Matcha. Since I am in NYC to work a show for a few days, I decided to check it out. I arranged to meet up with my friend Dan Mayer, and I brought my laptop along to put in some work before we got together.

 

Firstly, how charming is the exterior. I knew before I even stepped inside that it was going to be a place I could spend some quality time.

 

There are a ton of options right off the bat. I decided to play it safe and start with a matcha lemonade, and on a whim I decided to add a matcha soft serve ice cream. I can’t resist a swirl.

 

Confession? I expected it to be gross. I anticipated it to be bitter, to be herby, I don’t know. I was pleasantly surprised by how tasty it was in reality! REALLY yummy. It is very smooth. No acidity or aftertaste. I was so surprised that I figured I’d get some work done on a proposal and then try another when Dan joined me.

 

Aside from their tasty treats, how cute is Cha Cha Matcha??? Their decor is filled with flashes of delight. In addition to their retro signage and coffee shop vibe, they wall papered this wall with Cha Cha posters.

 

They put up an astroturf like wall with a neon “Matcha Gracias” sign.

 

On the regular wall they had lots of old Cha Cha record covers.

 
And did I mention the benches are covered in a palm print?

 

 

Dan met up with me after about 40 minutes. As I’ve said in other posts, he’s one of Nate’s best friends and even served as a groomsman in our wedding. He’s an all around nice guy, and a lot of fun to hang out with. He’s a smart and hilarious person to be around (and ahem ladies of NYC, somehow still single …), and over the years, we’ve formed a really strong friendship of our own. I consider him a very good friend and I was glad we got the chance to meet up! 

 

While I wrapped up my work, he got us each a signature drink. Iced for him, hot for me. He had no idea that they put writing onto the tops of their lattes, and we got a kick out of the message on mine. “Luv u so matcha.” Cha Cha Matcha, I love YOU so matcha. I wish you were in DC. Sorry Starbucks, but I would go every day. Now I need to find a good matcha place in the District. If you are in New York, definitely try to stop in. It’s definitely worth it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

