Romantic Brunch Surprise at the JFK Proposal Booth

I married Philip (Nate) Nathan on June 7, 2014. We’ve been together since 2012, and have known each other since 2002. Someday, maybe I’ll do a post about how we met / got together. I love Nate tremendously, but of the many wonderful qualities that he possesses, romance and planning are not amongst those.

 

With the shift in my work schedule, lately, Nate and I have been working on our relationship, really trying to not take each other for granted, and trying to put a little more outward affection towards each other, and making sure that we tell each other how much we appreciate the other.

 

Nate decided to surprise me with a romantic brunch date in DC. He took me to Martin’s Tavern in Georgetown. I’d heard of it, but had no idea about the history of the restaurant. (Which in retrospect, is surprising).

 

Nate called ahead and planned with the restaurant to reserve their most famous booth; The Proposal Booth is where JFK proposed to Jackie! He orchestrated the JFK Proposal booth and had champagne waiting for us at the table! (I think everyone thought he was going to pop the question and were confused by our wedding bands)!

 

 

Not only did he do all this, he had come up with a speech about how important I was to him, and how much he loves me. (I’m not crying, you’re crying, shut up). Lastly, he pulled out this gorgeous cocktail ring from Kate Spade New York, and told me he had personally called Susan at the Kate Spade Madison Avenue store to help him select something I would like.

 

 

 

 

For brunch, we had oysters (see, perfect day!)

 

 

and I had a crab and bacon omelette!

 

 

Champs and cocktail rings and the Jackie O. I mean, I think he knocked it out of the park. I was so blown away by his sweet gesture!! I’m a lucky gal. Now I have to figure out a way to surprise him with something special in return! Any suggestions?

 

 

Love in reflection.

 

Feeling very blessed to have such a wonderful guy.

Leave a Reply

