Teaching and Learning

 

On Wednesday, I had the privilege to teach the Event Operations CEM course to a group of students at the U.S. Department of Commerce. As i have mentioned before, the CEM program (Certification in Exhibition/Event Management), is a professional designation that I received back in 2011. In 2016, I joined the faculty. There are approximately 60 of us in the world.

 

In February, I taught a class of 40 students in conjunction with the DMAI Destination Showcase event, and I was so excited to learn that all of my students passed their exam! This class was much smaller, but with a much different audience and completely different learning style.

 

I have discovered that I really enjoy teaching. I still get the flutter of nerves presenting to people, but I find that the challenge of making the material relatable and understandable while keeping my audience engaged and attentive is a real rush. I love sharing my industry experiences and knowledge, and feeling like I am helping people gain new insights and ideas makes me incredibly happy.

 

It’s amazing where life takes you. Many years ago, I thought that perhaps I would become a teacher by means of a career. Both of my parents are educators, so it made a lot of sense to me as that is what I grew up knowing. in 2010, when I reengaged in my career in the events industry, I never thought that I would get the opportunity to teach. I thought that i had left that idea behind. I love what I do, and I don’t think I would ever want to give up the career that I have chosen, but teaching these courses gives me an opportunity to step outside of my normal life and into a new arena. I find myself researching different teaching techniques and adult learning philosophies. I prepare for each class that I teach, and I’ve learned that timing and pacing is a huge component in teaching!

 

I feel very blessed to have been given these opportunities, and I hope that I will be able to add more courses each year to my schedule. Very thankful to keep learning and teaching, and having new experiences! This has shown me that you should never stop growing and seeking chances to try new things. These moments are something to treasure and to continue building upon.

Leave a Reply

