Derby Days Party

The Potomac Chapter of MPI hosts one of my favorite industry events of the year: Derby Days. It’s a Kentucky Derby themed party, so obviously, this is one of my favorite moments of the year. I like to think that I can rock a great outfit to any industry function, but this event is where I shine.

 

 

 

They always serve mint juleps in the actual Kentucky Derby glasses. I love any opportunity to throw on a fascinator, and sip bourbon. When I saw this dress on Rue La La, I thought it was perfect for this event. (They actually did a curated style grouping of “Reese Witherspoon’s style,”  and that’s where I found this dress). The floral print, the ruffles, the bow? All very cute and very me. I always get nervous ordering new brands online, because I am never sure if they will accommodate my chest size. Luckily, this one fit beautifully. It’s hard not to just feel joyful when you get to dress up like this. There’s an episode of Friends where Monica tries on Emily’s wedding dress and says how she wishes she could wear a wedding dress everyday. That’s how I feel about horse race attire. I wish every day required a fascinator.

 

 

 

 

 

 

I added my brand new Loren Hope Flora statement necklace and Flora brooch to this dress, and I think they were just the right touch! I obviously love all things Loren Hope, but this particular necklace is on my top list. It’s so unique and beautiful!! Over the moon with this one. I would love to get multiples of the brooch and create a little line of bees on a different dress, but I also knew I couldn’t get crazy here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

The official drink of the Kentucky Derby is the Mint Julep, but what many people do not know is that the official drink of the Kentucky Oaks (The race the night before the Derby and one of the most challenging races for fillies in the country) is the Lily. (It’s a vodka concoction that tastes divine).

 

 

 

 

Dress: Jessica Howard on Rue La La (similar) | Necklace: Loren Hope | Brooch: Loren Hope | Earrings: Loren Hope | Shoes: Kate Spade (old, but available in black and white)

Leave a Reply

