Derby Party Eats! 

So you can’t have a party without a killer spread, right? 
Firstly, no Derby Party would be complete without a mint julep station! I make a ton of simple syrup and we put it in this beautiful fountain coolers. I have some mint julep cups and I use them to hold the stirrers and the mint! 
I also ordered Kentucky Derby stirrers and these adorable gold horse ones from White Elephant Designs!  



Cheese and Charcuterie board. 

I believe the cheeses are manchego, drunken goat, tallegio, champagne cheddar,  Irish cheddar, and a garlic cheese spread. Add some marcone almonds, pistachios, and dried cherries in my adorable Villeroy and Bosch serving cups. Meats were spicy and genoa salami, prosciutto, and pepperoni. I love using this big cutting board as a cheese plate. 


I like to make a veggie platter more interesting, so I served it in this fun silver lobster. Carrots, celery, broccoli, cauliflower, and snap peas.


I made a homemade tzaziki sauce, and my (not pictured) avocado dip is always a hit. I like to give people some variety, so there were gluten free pretzels, tortilla chips, and pita chips. I also put out a small dish of ranch. 

We grilled/ smoked a salmon filet on the Big green egg! It gives it a wonderful smoky quality that people seemed to really enjoy.

Pasta salad (no mayo). The pasta is a gluten free elbow pasta with olive oil, artichokes, tomatoes, and Parmesan.


Crowning glory, I slow roasted a salt/sugar brined crispy pork shoulder. It was YUMMY.


Lemon merengue pie


Buttercream cake (thanks Whole Foods bakery)! I can cook for the masses, or I can bake for the masses. I can’t do both. 

One thought on “Derby Party Eats! 

Leave a Reply

