Teamwork Events DC Launch

Back in April, I was hired by Teamwork Events to be their newly created Senior Director of Events and Industry Relations. My first act was to present them with a business development strategy. Since April, I have been completely swamped with trying to find and hire a marketing firm (check), a pr/social media firm (check), and not only get us staged for a brand refresh, but to introduce the company to the Washington, DC market, to coincide with our client’s big DC tradeshow.

 

It’s been an absolute whirlwind putting together this launch party in as little time as I have had. Generally, I would have preferred at LEAST 6 months to plan and execute this. I had 6 weeks. All in all, I was extremely pleased with how well it turned out. I truly think that the party netted the exact results we were looking for!

 

I have to give a shoutout to my magnificent vendors.

 

Long View Gallery was the exact venue I was searching for. Not only was it everything I needed in look and location. It is more difficult than I realized to find a raw space in DC that wasn’t a historic property. I worked with Suzi Molak, and she was wonderful. We also rented the rooftop terrace for our staff luncheon at the Aspen (AJAX) which is also managed by them, and she bundled the space rentals for me. My event manager, Michele Hoss is a saint. As you can imagine, getting things put together in six weeks meant I wasn’t always getting forms back from other vendors, and she worked with me patiently, even when we had some last minute changes to our event.

 

 

 

 

 

Step and Repeat. Unfortunately, our floral vendor needed to pull out at the last minute, so Nate and I provided our own florals from Lowes. (He was kind of a saint through this event). 

 

 

The wonderful Belinda with KLEERTECH, who stepped in at the 11th hour to provide our registration. Working with them has been wonderful! She is amazing. If you are looking for great customer service, Belinda is your lady! 

 

 

 

 I tried to design this warehouse, industrial space, to see like a modern technology garden party. We used lots of tufted white and green topiary furniture to create a sleek corporate look and showcase some of our company’s award winning technology. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was so thrilled that Drink Company (the masters behind the Stranger Things / Miracle on 7th Christmas Bar and the Cherry Blossom / Super Mario Brothers Pop Up Bars) agreed to bartend my party. Even better, we did a rum tasting, and they agreed to preview some of their new pop up bar cocktails. They announced the pop up theme two days before the party. Needless to say, when you tell people that a GAME OF THRONES pop up is coming, exciting things are bound to happen. They previewed two cocktails (“Shame” and “Milk of the Poppy”) to our delighted guests.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Cobalt Calligraphy did the menus. Aren’t they lovely?)

 

 

I’ve been following Heirloom Catering on their instagram forever. I know that you shouldn’t choose a caterer based solely on their creativity, but I was blown away by my conversation with Vicky. She just understood exactly what I was looking for. We wanted our event to not fall into the “same old party” category, and I think Heirloom elevated things to a whole new level. (I can’t tell you how many venues and caterers did not seem to get what I was looking for, and Vicky with Heirloom and Suzi with Long View just got it). 

 

Not only was each of the dishes delicious, Heirloom is light years ahead of everyone else when it comes to presentation. There is no one who is half as creative or detailed as they. I was completely blown away by their tablescapes, their service, and every small detail that went into the displays, the dishes, and even the way they cleared the room of all dishes and glasses.  Beyond impressive.

 

 

 

 

 

Lobster Rolls, Fenway Franks, and Pizza Rolls

  

Siracha Chicken Waffles, Gyritos, and Nacho Boats

 

 

 

 

 

 

Breakfast Burritos, avocado toast, and cinnamon rolls with bacon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A CHURRO WALL. (People lost their minds over this).

 

 

Passed milkshakes with french fries.

 

 

 

The drape is crushed eggshell, and was a last minute order from Drape Kings, who could not have been nicer to work with!

 

 

 

 

 

Buttercream Bakeshop was also magnificent. We had discussed how some of their treats, including their brand new, hand painted candy bars that they previewed at our event, look like jewels. We decided to display them like jewelry. I worked directly with Tiffany MacIsaac and Alexandra Aptheker to put together the most beautiful wall of desserts you ever did see. I had ordered several little trinket trays and jewelry displays, and Tiffany made it work so well! We really had to push people to start eating them, because everyone wanted to look and not touch.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

At our event, we had Alex Aspiazu of Cobalt Calligraphy creating custom pieces for our guests to take home! I knew Alex was talented, but I was blown away by how wonderful the things she made were! So brilliant!!

 

 

 

 

 

We also had the Meetings Industry Fund taking donations at our event.

 

 

 

We were very pleased to showcase the Super EPNAC Slo-Mo Booth.

 

 

 

 

The ladies of Teamwork Events. ❤ Happy to be one of their number!

 

 

Yes. I always am prepared for an event… and I finally found a manicurist to make my #nailgoals happen.

 

All photos provided by Event Photography of North America

 

One thought on “Teamwork Events DC Launch

Leave a Reply

