Seersucker Dress and the Spanish Galleon

Once a year, El Galeon, the Spanish Galleon docks in Old Town Alexandria, and it’s always a sight to see. One of the many reasons that we chose Old Town Alexandria was due to the proximity to the waterfront. While it’s not the beach, on a warm sunny day, being able to take a walk on the waterfront is always a plus. Additionally, Alexandria is a hub for fun historical activities, including the galleon, and we love being able to take part in festivities like this.

 

 

While my blog is titled Seersucker Optional, I haven’t showcased a lot of seersucker recently. That will certainly change as the summer wears on, as I (obviously), love seersucker.

 

 

On this perfect, sunny day I put on my perfect one shoulder, ruffle, seersucker dress from J.Crew, donned a hat, and headed down to the waterfront. J.Crew eliminated their bridesmaid collection this year, but I was thrilled to see they added their “Ready to Party” collection. There is nothing about this dress that isn’t pretty much made for me. As soon as I saw it, I clicked buy. I’ve been waiting for a sunshine and blue skies day to bring this dress out, and what a lovely day.

 

 

It was wonderful to see kayakers, paddle boarders, and boaters out and about on the Potomac.

 

 

img_7035-1

 

 

The J.Crew hat is such a great casual topper. How cute are those pom poms and the pretty striped ribbon? I love a good sun hat! And of course, the cuff bracelet that Nate got me a few years ago for a present was exactly what I needed for this outfit. It’s a map of the Jersey Shore and it makes me so happy.

 

img_7693-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_7033-1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dress: J.Crew | Hat: J.Crew | Earrings: Lisi Lerch | Purse: Kate Spade (different color available) | Jersey Shore Cuff: Weston Gallery

 

Leave a Reply

