Babies, Baptisms, and Buns in the Oven

June had a lot of baby events scheduled for some of my favorite people and dearest friends! Here are a few highlights from these beautiful celebrations!



Holly’s Shower at Hen Quarter in Old Town Alexandria

 

 

Isn’t Holly just the cutest in her off the shoulder dress? Our waiter literally fawned over her moment, and she looked absolutely resplendent in this shade of pink! She’s just the sweetest, and I loved getting to celebrate her and her daughter to be. I sadly missed the pink memo, so I wore this white Lilly Pulitzer Quinn dress with my Loeffler Randal heels and my Loren Hope crescent pendant.  Even in these giant platforms, Holly still towers me. This is such a fun group of girls, so I was happy to catch up with them and spend the morning eating delicious chicken dishes and drinking cocktails and mocktails and champagne all around! Lilly and Tanya (and Holly) and I used to work together, so it was really nice to get to see them. We definitely missed Manuela!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cat’s Shower at the Lobster Shanty in Point Pleasant, NJ

 

Immediately after Holly’s shower in VA, I hopped a train home to NJ for Cat’s baby shower the next day. I haven’t been home in NJ since Christmas, so it was great to come home, even though it was only for a day. (I got in late Saturday night and caught a 7am train home on Monday). I don’t get to see mom and dad enough, so I made the trip without Nate and the dogs. Mom and I ended up watching a Ewan McGregor movie and it was nice to (even briefly) celebrate Mother’s Day and Father’s Day (and Dad’s birthday) all in one.

 

I would never, ever miss Cat’s Shower by choice, so I was relieved that it was a weekend I could make work! I was so happy to find all kinds of adorable Ralph Lauren baby supplies which were on theme with the beautiful nautical shower and I hope made Cat and Keith smile. Her baby boy is going to be bedecked in RL if I have any say in the matter! Cat’s such a cute mama-to-be! Headband? Definitely my soulmate. Though we didn’t get to have our cheese fry or tacquito date this time, I was so happy to see my lovely friend get showered with love and presents!

 

 

It was so nice catching up with these ladies! Britt is also pregnant, and looks amazing! I still miss Katie living down here, so it was wonderful to see her! She is my oldest and dearest friend, and was one of my maid (matrons) of honor at my wedding. I went over Katie’s after the shower to hang out and catch up with her and David and to spend some time with her two beautiful children. Since I am usually only home for the holidays these days, this was the first chance I’ve had to just spend time with my friend and get to see her children without the flurries of holiday chaos. Katie’s an incredible mother, and I love her and her kids.

 

 

I wore this Maison Jules tulip dress. Probably should have reversed outfits so that I was wearing pink for Holly’s, but oh well. I like the cut of this dress, and I love a fit and flare. I was so happy to see my wonderful friend. Can’t wait for Baby Burns!

 

 

 

 

 

Braeden Allen’s Baptism in Southern Maryland

and BBQ at Steph and Martin’s. 



I have a group of such amazing lady friends that I hate to put labels on or measure degrees of closeness, but I find myself attaching labels to distinguish, even though there are several people that qualify as “deeply close to.” Steph and I have been best friends since college, and she and Katie were my maids (matrons) of honor at my wedding. We always make time for each other to check in and call each other, even when we have so many other things going on in our lives. Because she lives a solid 1 hour 45 minutes to 2.5 hours away in traffic and we both travel, we very infrequently get to see each other in person. For the longest time, I have felt like a complete jerk, because I was on work travel for her baby shower, I didn’t make it down to visit after he was born, and generally, I have felt like the worst friend in the world because who doesn’t meet their best friend’s baby???? He’s practically walking already! Thankfully, I was able to make it to Braeden’s baptism. I was so pumped to finally meet the little guy. I mean, we’ve facetimed before, but you can’t feed a cute upright baby cheerios over face time.

 

We didn’t take any photos in the church, but remembered to take a couple at the BBQ at Steph’s house. (FYI, yes, Steph wore a cute dress for the Baptism and changed into shorts for the party: I wildly underestimated how warm it would be and was the only person who did not bring a change of clothes. However, I love this dress and never tire of wearing it… it just didn’t make for a good, sweltering outside in the heat outfit).

 

 

 

 

 

Tiniest mother, 95 percentile baby. I can’t get over how big he is already! Such a sweetheart! And those cheeks! 😍

 

 

You can’t tell, but Martin’s shirt says “Pint” and Braeden’s onesie says “Half-Pint” and it’s the cutest thing ever.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Babies, Baptisms, and Buns in the Oven

  1. Woohoo! Finally made the blog! Also- “best friend isn’t a person, it’s a tier.” – Mindy Lahiri (why yes, I do have a Mindy quote for every situation…)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

