Friday Food: New Orleans Tasty Bites

Today for this Friday Food post, I’m going to share a few of my delicious dining experiences from New Orleans this past week. I’m back in NOLA in two weeks, and excited to continue my eating spree. It’s not always easy for me to find foods I can safely consume in the Big Easy (lethal pepper allergy and all…) but I manage to find some tasty moments all the same.

 

 

 

I am sure you are all sick of this, but I LOVE Dragos charbroiled oysters. The restaurant itself is just a gigantic place, but the charbroiled oysters are heavenly. They add some cheese and butter and garlic and it’s just the most declious thing… and I haven’t seen them prepared this way anywhere else.

 

img_4535-1

 

 

 

We were staying at the Roosevelt, who happens to have the most delicious Reuben on the planet. I didn’t get the chance to snag a pic (because I ordered room service and then had to get on a work call), but I’ll capture it in a few weeks to share with you all.

 

After I got done working for the day, I decided to do a little wandering while Nate was still at the conference. Made my way down to Magazine Street, and found an adorable snowball place, which was perfect for the extreme heatwave that followed the rain. They served mine in a little chinese takeout container which I thought was funny and I spent the rest of the day with a red tongue. Isn’t this cute with the bunting and adirondack chairs? And the little snowball cone neon??

 

 

 

 

img_5657

 

As I was continuing my trek, I decided to pop into Sucre to see what the fuss was all about. It was worth it. They have some glorious treats. Their packaging and cafe is beautiful.

 

 

I didn’t get myself a coffee, but I did order their famous three scoop cone and a small plate of macarons. (It was National Watermelon Day. Aren’t these little watermelon macarons darling??)

 

 

 

 

 

 

This was actually gelato, and it was so yummy. I definitely needed the little spoon which kind of made me feel like I was cheating, but it didn’t make me ruin my dress.

 

 

For our last evening, my friend beautiful friend Lindsay and her husband Jeff met up with Nate and me for dinner at Susan Spicer’s Bayona. Lindsay and I met through our shared love of Loren Hope jewelry on Instagram several years ago, and then almost two years ago we finally got to meet in person! She and Jeff are the absolute sweetest, and we’re basically style soul mates. Unfortunately for my appearance (she looks amazing no matter what), it literally started TORRENTIALLY DOWNPOURING on us just in time for me to leave the hotel and get dropped off. The kind maitre d handed me a towel as I walked in dripping wet. I had chosen this lovely one shoulder J.Crew dress and my peacock purse from Kate Spade. Of course Lindsay has her Camille the Camel bag from Kate Spade, which I was dying over. Amazing right???

 

 

Our dinner was superb. Not only was the service excellent, our waiter had us cracking up. We started with the sweet potato brioche. These were warm and soft and perfect little dinner rolls.

 

 

Lindsay got this mango crab salad that looked incredible, though was not Mary safe to taste.

 

 

Susan Spicer is known for her sweetbreads. I’ve never tried them before, and i had a few reserves (I mean, they’re friend thymus glands), but I figured the place to try sweetbreads for the first time would be at Bayona. I am so glad that I did! These were insanely delicious. I had to slow myself down to keep from gobbling it all up. I cannot recommend this dish enough!

 

 

 

We also got the wonderfully silky garlic soup. It sounds weird, but it was delicious. (and not overpoweringly garlicky).

 

 

 

For an entree, I got the hanger steak. When one of my favorite restaurants, Perilla, in NYC closed, I thought this dish was ruined for me. Their hanger steak was exceptional, and I didn’t think anyone else’s could compare. I was wrong. So happy that I ordered this dish. The steak was buttery and juicy and each bite was perfection.

 

 

Nate got the duck breast, and for once, I didn’t want to steal it off of his plate, because I was enjoying my hanger steak so much. I did finally agree to exchange a piece of steak for a piece of duck, and it was wonderful, but the steak was definitely the superior of the two in my opinion.

 

 

For dessert, we got this beautiful little white chocolate dessert concoction. It was sweet and delicious.

 

 

When we were asking about appetizers, our waiter mentioned that they used to serve the duck puff pastry as a dessert item, but had finally moved it to the appetizer section. I decided to give it a whirl. Oh my goodness. Each bite was magnificent. It was sweet and savory and absolutely wonderful. I think it’s just right on the dessert menu, and I recommend ordering it there!

 

 

 

 

The rain had finally cleared up, so we decided to get a couple photos of us and our cute creature bags. Unfortunately, New Orleans humidity is no joke. My poor, suffering camera fogged up, and it took a while to even get these shots. (it just get refogging and refogging, which obviously makes getting a clear photo – especially at night – near impossible). We tried our best!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dress: J.Crew | Necklace: Loren Hope | Bracelet: Loren Hope| Peacock Purse: Kate Spade | Camel Purse: Kate Spade

Leave a Reply

